How to create a web app with bpmn-js which can draw BPMN diagrams

Hi,

I am not sure if this is a dumb question. If it is I apologise.

I am new to this and I do not know NodeJs or any of the libraries even though I have considerable knowledge of JS.

My requirement is to create a web application that can draw new BPMN diagrams and save them as well as upload existing ones to modify them. And then to extend some BPMN elements such as BPMN activity.

I have downloaded almost everything from the site and I have installed NodeJs as well. I also installed node_modules and bower_components through command prompt.

I can run the examples such as ‘bpmn-js-seed-master’ where I see an sample diafram, but I can’t figure out how to get the toolkit and other full features to create a new BPMN diagram as the demo shows.

Please help me with this. I know there is lot of description there but somehow I can’t figure it out even after spending few days on this.

I need this as part of my study. I am a research student.

Thank you very much for your time (even reading this:)).

Have you checked out the examples simple-bower and simple-common-js yet? These are great starting points.

Hi Philipp,

No I haven’t, I will do, thanks.

Thank you very much for the links and advice.

I think I have some issues with downloading things through npm. I am new to these things. So I am not sure if I am doing it all correct.

Thanks again.

I suggest you to explore the modeler example we provide, too. The contained app/index.js displays a few of the APIs that are relevant to you.

Note that you are not forced to use npm and the whole setup. Starting with plain JavaScript from the bpmn-js-seed will allow you to build the same thing, without any complex setup.

Hi nikku,

Oh thank you so very much! Your reply helps me very much. It’s great to know i don’t have to use npm, thanks.

This is what I was looking for. Not to display just a BPMN diagram.