Export to XML only some elements

Hi again!

I need some help with this task. I have to export to XML my bpmn diagram, but I only need some elements (ServiceTasks).

Could you help me please?

In this moment, I think I have to change this part of the code:

function saveDiagram(done) {

bpmnModeler.saveXML({ format: true }, function(err, xml) {
    done(err, xml);
  });
}

Thanks a lot.

What is the use case? Can you provide more context?

Yes, of course. Sorry for that, I’m new at this.

I have developed a bpmn modeler with a new element. I use the “ServiceTask” and modify it to get it.

In this step I need to develop a function that give a xml file with all ServiceTask elements from the model.

I was looking for and finally I found this function in bpmn-js/Viewer.js:

Viewer.prototype.saveXML = function(options, done) {

if (!done) {
    done = options;
    options = {};
  }

var definitions = this._definitions;

if (!definitions) {
    return done(new Error('no definitions loaded'));
  }
  this._moddle.toXML(definitions, options, done);
};

I’m thinking about “definitions” but I don’t know how to extract only what I need.

What is the use-case of only exporting service tasks? Do you still want to have a valid BPMN diagram? Do you actually want the XML or just a way of accessing the service tasks?

I’m developing a API that receive a XML file and transform it to a json file.

For this, I need export XML file from the modeler with only the ServiceTask elements.

So you want to create a JSON file with information about all service tasks of a diagram? How would you extract this information from the XML? Why wouldn’t you get this information directly without previously exporting the diagram?

This is a good solution. But I have the same problem; I don’t know how to extract the information as JSON format or get it directly.

Edit:

I just have developed this function:

function saveJSON(done) {