Archimate diagrams

Hi guys,
First of all I love the BPMN modeler. I now work in Enteprise Architecture and sometimes I wish there was a simple modeling tool like it, but for Open Group’s Archimate notation. I recently created some templates for Powerpoint and it got we wondering whether anybody has ever suggested creating an Archimate modeler using the snappy js modeling library you use.

1 Like

Hi,
I have been an enterprise architect for years and there is no Archimate tool like the bmn.io modeler.
So I started to implement an Archimate modeler based on diagram-js but since I’m new to JS development, I need time to be productive !
I hope to have something that works for the last quarter of 22.

If anyone is interested in this project, let me know and I’ll create a public github project.

2 Likes

Nice, that sounds exactly sort of thing I would like to support. Not that great with JS myself either, but if you put up what you’ve got I’m happy to have a look at it and hopefully we could more people involved. I guess the key thing is that the tool should be able to support at least key parts of archimate file format. Also if there is a possibility to load diagrams through a standard API that would make a data-driven approach to creating diagrams feasible and version control is always great to have.

1 Like

I could be mistaken but I believe there may be a licensing cost to implement the archimate notation in a tool.
I’d reach out to the Open group to find out.

However, if you did develop something, I think it would be great if you could somehow build it off of bpmn.io (although I understand the desire to use diagram-js)

Here is a link to commercial license for Archimate. Not sure if this applies to open source or not.

Yeah, That’s a good point. BPMN is an Open Group standard and I thought it would be good to compare the licenses, but could not find one.

Thanks for the advise.