Using bpmn-js with Typescript and npm

Hello there,

I am currently building and angular2 application (TypeScript) and want to embed the bpmn viewer, where I have hit a hard wall. I should say I have quite some experience writing software, but I am completely new to web development and lack a lot of the necessary technical background that I seem to need in order to solve this on my own.

What I ultimately want is to have a Viewer reference on typescript level that I can work with. But these are my conceptual problems:

• I cannot import the library on code level. I installed it via npm, but there are no type definitions (d.ts file) and so the usual workarounds to ā€œimportā€ the library on typescript level fail. I canā€™t just declare a var : any aimed at Viewer from Viewer.js, because typescript cannot handle the ā€œrequireā€ statements contained therein. Is there anyone who has ever done this?
  • I do not understand the structure of the library as it is. The code example (bpmn-js-examples/simple-commonjs at master Ā· bpmn-io/bpmn-js-examples Ā· GitHub) creates a ā€œBpmnViewerā€ handle via ā€œvar BpmnViewer = require(ā€˜bpmn-jsā€™);ā€. Does this refer to the stuff defined in Viewer.js? What kind of magic does ā€œrequireā€ wield at this point? How can I mimick this behaviour by hand?

Sorry for such low-level questions, but being able to use bpmn-js in upcoming angular2 projects would certainly be quite coolā€¦ :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Fbo,

Please find the attached URL for your reference.Please follow the same steps to generate bundled.js file using Node.js and import bundled.js in your web application.

Thanks
-Prameela

Ok, after spending another day sorting my thoughts and understanding the structure and technicalities of the problem a bit better, let me rephrase:

This is what Iā€™m doing right now:

• I followed the angular2 tutorials (https://angular.io/docs/ts/latest/quickstart.html describes the general setup)